I recently attended a meeting in my town of the ShareHope support group.  This group is for people who have experienced the loss of a child during pregnancy, through stillbirth, or during the first few months of life.  My sweet friend Stacey (great name, huh) 🙂 who has also lost her precious baby Conley, has worked hard to form this group and to reach out to parents going through this gut-wrenching pain. 

Stacey has been after me to attend a meeting and I’ve had some conflicts, but I have also not been anxious to go.  It’s been eleven years since Abby was born and died, and God has done a genuine work of healing in my heart.  I will never get over my precious first daughter, but by the grace and eternal hope that I have through my faith in Christ, I live with the assurance that I will see her again.  I have some really hard days, still.  Her 11th birthday in March was a tough one for me.  Maybe I was (and am, in some ways) still reeling from Robbie’s accident and coming so close to losing him.  A support group is something I was never drawn to for some reason.

So, I took a deep breath and went to the meeting with one of my bff’s (to use Betsy-speak) Lisa, who delivered her sweet Landon at 18 weeks gestation six years ago.  We were both nervous and didn’t know what to expect.  It turned out to be a time of just talking about our children who had passed away and having the chance to tell those for whom this journey is so new that they will make it.  The one thing I asked was whether or not we were free to talk about our faith, and it is ok.  Without the Lord Jesus, there is truly no hope of being reunited with our children who are in Heaven.  It did make me so sad to experience again the anguish that I know all too well.  But at the same time, it reminded me that God has allowed an experience in my life that can be used for His glory – or as John Piper puts it, that I will not waste my life or anything that has come into it. 

I still don’t know what my role in this group will be, but I know that God expects me to always give an answer for the hope that is in me (I Peter 3:15), and He will equip me to do it.

4 thoughts on “ShareHope

  1. Hi Stacey…

    Can I first just say how much I love your springy header! We’ve got 2 feet of snow and it’s still falling…ugh.

    I thought of you the other day when I was reading something a friend wrote about her daughter in heaven. It was her daughter’s first birthday and she called it her “first birthday with Jesus”. I loved that.

    Do you read the blog Bring the Rain? Here’s a link if you want to check it out. http://audreycaroline.blogspot.com/

    Blessings,
    Meredith

  2. Stacey,

    Thank you so much for coming to ShareHope and for being a “vechicle” to share the hope and love of Christ with so many others who “walk where you have walked.” I have always thought since day one of Conley’s passing that the Lord sent you to me. You are a constant reminder of how faith in our Heavenly Father truly does make all the difference in the world. I am blessed to call you friend. You are an amazing person and I look forward to hearing all about Abby at our next ShareHope meeting. (June 18th, Thursday at 7:00p.m.) Again, thank you for blessing me and countless others with your strength, faith and love.

    Big Hugs,
    Stacey Orr

  3. Stacey:

    I was clearing out some old emails and I came across your website. I can’t believe it has been almost a year. We have heard that Robbie is doing great. The Browns (Eric and T) were bragging on him the other day. I was just thinking about you and wanted you to know. I love your website. I can’t imagine ever having the time to do all you do. Your children are beautiful. If you ever come to Memphis again and have time, we would love to see you. Love to all, Karen

Leave a Reply

