Andy Shatley, Joe Hafner, Coy Boyd, Stuart Reid, Robbie, Jay Little
l to r: Andy Shatley, Joe Hafner, Coy Boyd, Stuart Reid, Robbie, Jay Little

Robbie took his first bike ride today since August 12.  He hadn’t planned on riding until Spring, but due to some warm temperatures in our area he just couldn’t wait.  Many guys have expressed a desire to ride with him for the first time back, but since this ride was thrown together, all of them couldn’t join.  They will be with him soon, though.  first-ride-group-2

I must admit that I’ve had a bit of a struggle with this.  I have always supported his desire to get back on the bike.  I would never ask him to give up something that he loves so much.  I just won’t take it for granted anymore that he’s out riding his bike like I used to.  I laid down the law with the guys today that he was never to be left alone and that they better take good care of him!  He was like a kid in a candy store, though, and seeing his excitement over getting back in the saddle was cute.  February 12 will be six months to the day since the accident.  All the things that have led to this day are truly amazing and we are in awe of God’s grace toward our family.  My heart is so full of gratitude for what He has done. 

And I love my man! first-ride-rob

3 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle Again

  1. Isn’t that a praise! As one cyclist to another, I’m proud of him. I’ll be honest and admit that I’ve continued to periodically check in on your blog waiting for this day. It must have been exciting for him and heart-pounding for you.

    Way to go Robbie!

Leave a Reply

