thanksgiving_mayflower_pilgrimsThe past few days for our family devotions we have been going through the “Thanksliving Treasures” from Family Life. (I checked and I don’t think they make it anymore). We do it at bedtime before prayers. Each night there is a story about the Pilgrims’ journey to the new world, including classic artwork and excerpts from writings of some of the pilgrims themselves. After the story, we each have an opportunity to write down something we are thankful for regarding the topic for that story (protection, health, freedom, provision, etc.). It has been a neat time as we remember God’s goodness to us as a nation and as a family.

This year is an especially meaningful one for us, as we look back on where God has brought us. Robbie is doing so well, having been told he doesn’t need his back brace anymore, and is making huge progress towards living a normal life again. His job situation is still not completely settled, but there is progress in that, too. The kids are doing wonderful, and are a joy to watch as they grow. Our homeschooling has been a true blessing to our family, and we are so glad we obeyed God’s direction to do it. The provision God has made for us in every challenge has been a reminder that He loves us and hasn’t forgotten about us, even though some days you wonder if He still sees (it seems it is then that He sends a sweet reminder from His word or some other source).

We are also thankful for all of you who have prayed for us over every hill and through every valley of this experience. Your encouragement and compassion has sustained us through many dark days and we are profoundly grateful. We hope you all have a Thanksgiving filled with Him.

P.S. I’m sorry this video is the wrong way. I saved it as upright, but can’t get it to go on the blog correctly. I have to finish a pie, so I can’t spend more time on it. Happy Thanksgiving!

6 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Just wanted to wish you a Happy Birthday on Friday! I will be out of town and without a computer so I thought I would do it now 🙂 Glad everything is getting somewhat back to normal! I agree we all are very blessed! This will be our first Thanksgiving with my brother in Afghanistan and we just don’t realize how fortunate we all are! So this year not only are so very thankful for God and his miracles but also all the soldiers that give us freedom everyday, missing their families, for all of us!

    Have a blessed Birthday, let them treat you like a queen! haha Happy Thanksgiving too!

  2. You look absolutely wonderful . I am so thankful for you and your family . I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving . My daughter from Augusta , Ga and her family were here for 8 days . My little grandson ask a family member if they wanted to see his boo boo ( the scar from his open heart surgery August 5th ) He said ” It’s not scary ” My daughter and I just exchanged looks and said ” no not now ” .If we take time to reflect on the good things in our lives we have so much to be thankful for that we take for granted daily . Hope to see you soon . Love to all , Judy

  3. I love the video! I think that is AWESOME and you could never tell that anything had happened. Isn’t it just so amazing how God works and how anyone could actually not believe He exists? Hmph.

Leave a Reply

