From Robbie:

We went to see my orthopedic surgeon today in Memphis.  I was ready for him to take x-rays and give me an idea of how my hip was healing.  I wasn’t expecting him to tell me I was ready to walk, but I did want to know how I was doing.  After the x-rays, Dr. Guyton came in and said that my hip was healing nicely, but I was still not ready to put weight on it.  He did say that I could start riding a bike.  Now please understand, I did not have visions of jumping on a bike and spinning around the block, but I did think maybe I could ride my trainer (a device that attaches to the back wheel of my bike and allows me to ride it indoors).  Dr. Guyton caught my excitement and quickly told me I could ride a recumbent bike to start working my hip, as well as start physical therapy to get the range of motion back.  He also told me that as soon as the wound on my back was completely gone, I could get in the pool for more physical therapy.  This is the start of rehab!  Finally I can begin the road to getting back to being me!  Our next appointment is on October 31st.  Dr. Guyton said that would be our “magic day”.  Hopefully, they will give me the green light to put weight on that hip and start walking.  I did ask the doc if I would be able to ride a bike and run again.  He told me I could definitely ride again, but running would have to wait.  We will have to see how the hip does.

I cannot tell you how much it means to have so many people praying for me.  I think we saw the power of that prayer today.  Dr. Guyton looked at my wound for the first time since he worked on it in the OR on August 13.  He was pleased with how it looked and commented that we dodged a big bullet.  With so many people praying, God protected me from any infection.  Please continue to pray for my recovery.  I do not want to rush things, but my short term disability does have limits and I need to get back to work.  Please continue to pray for God’s provision.  We have started to see some medical bills, and we know that God will provide.  It is easy to get scared of what this will mean to our family’s financial future, but we trust God.  He has been so faithful to us in previous situations, and I know he will continue to be faithful in the future.

On the trip home, I noticed that the cotton fields were already white, and I realized that October is already here.  It is amazing to me how the last seven weeks have really flown by.  It has been a challenge to be patient, but I know that the next six weeks will go by just as quickly and I’ll be walking again before I know it.  Thank you for praying on.

7 thoughts on ““You can ride a bike”

  1. Hey Guys, just wanted to drop a line and let you know I haven’t forgot about either of you. I think of you and Stacey everyday and realize the trials each of you are going thru. I know its been a hard six weeks or so, but like you say the next six should fly by. Sounds like things are healing for you,thats great. I got to see my break this past week too, not much healin at all, looked like the day I broke it, it hurt my feelings. I am walking without crutches though, more of a hobble, but sometimes the pain is really bad like now when I have a busy walking day. I really hate these pain pills too. On another note, I’m gettin to take care of Crystal now, she had rotator cuff surgery yesterday, she’s doing ok just in a ton of pain. Up at least 20 times between the two of us last night. Crystals mom is here from Mississippi, man she can cook, helping us out a lot too. She went to Walmart and Kroger today for us. Sorry I missed you at church, we have 3 kids playin traveling baseball over the last 3 weekends and the next two as well (won 3 tournaments this weekend in Memphis, yea!). Anyways, I do miss seeing you both and would love just to sit and talk a while and listen to all you want to talk about. And it is October, I am almost done defoliating this crop….you better take a picture though, there will not be hardly any cotton next year its looking like. Soybeans about the only thing left that will pencil out a profit. Be careful, David Hydrick

  2. Congrats on a wonderful trip to the Dr today! We have been keeping you and your family in our constant prayers…BTW, how is stacey’s finger? Please let us know if there is any addition need we might be able to assist. Much love and prayers!

  3. Robbie and Stacy, Just wanted to let you know that we are praying for you daily at the Pregnancy Resource Center. It is so great to hear of your progress. Thanks for keeping us updated on how to pray.

    Barb

  4. Robbie and Stacey, So glad to hear things are progressing. You and your family continue to be in our prayers.

  5. Rob,

    That’s a great report! I’ve been following your progress off and on, and it’s great to see the strides you’re making. Hang in there…the PT will be long, hard, and exhausting but necessary in the long run. Before you know it, you’ll be back to leading a full life again.

    Take care….

Leave a Reply

