I have a tendency to let my thoughts go kind of deep – those who know me well know that. I don’t really mean to, it just sort of happens. Thus, the English degree, I guess.

When we finished our laundry room, I wanted to have a verse or saying on the wall. The verse that came to my mind was the one that Robbie speaks over the kids and me every night after prayers. The “blessing” passage from Numbers 6:24-25 has always been a part of the life of our family. I found a great website called www.wallwords.com that offers vinyl lettering that looks just like you painted it. They had the Numbers verse, which is now above the back door.

Tonight I applied another touch to the front door, which I believe is the original door to the house (I know it’s quite an old door, anyway).

I wanted something unique so that if I didn’t want to hang a wreath or anything, it would still have some interest. I was browsing the wallwords site and decided on a monogram of “J” for Johnson (duh.) That didn’t seem like enough, so I remembered the abbreviation standing for established in such-and-such year. I got a “J” monogram with “est. 1991” over it. I’m really liking it, but it also got me thinking.

Robbie and I established this family of ours on July 26, 1991. At first it was just the two of us, then three with Nate’s birth, then four when Abigial came along. Sadly, ten years ago our family of four was again reduced to three after only a few weeks when we said goodbye (for now) to our sweet girl. In 1999, we were back to four with Stephen’s birth, suffered a miscarriage, and finally in 2002 grew to five when Betsy Grace danced into our lives.

Now here we are at another bend in this road. These 17 years have been filled with joy, laughter, love, heartache, and pain. The one thing I can count on is that we are established. We are established in the knowledge that we belong to Christ and our lives are dedicated to Him. We are established in the fact that our family has belonged to Him from day one and He will not let us go. We are established in the trust that He began a good work in us and He will complete it (Phil. 1:6).

We had no idea on that day the high calling of the vows we made. We knew we loved each other more that anything else and wanted to share our lives together. We desired to establish our marriage on Christ then and we desire for it to remain on Him forever. I wouldn’t want to walk this road with anyone else.

7 thoughts on “Established

  1. Amen and Amen on those last 2 paragraphs. Your J turned out fabulous, I’m ordering mine today!
    I’m reminded of a very old song…
    “We’ve come this far by faith, leaning on the Lord,
    Trusting in His Holy Word, He’s never failed us yet.
    Oh, we can’t turn back, We’ve come this far by faith.”
    Love you guys and I’m so excited today about where the Lord has brought you thus far and looking forward to what He’s going to do!
    Michelle

  2. Beautiful–your words, your family, and the “J” on your door! I still haven’t checked out wall words, but I am heading there now. Hope Betsy is feeling better and that the rest of you are doing well too. We’re still praying for you guys.

  3. I love your wall words!! I almost ordered a verse from them for Kaitlyn’s room in our last house, but wasn’t sure I could do it right. Was it hard? I may try it for the nursery:)

  4. We continue to check daily on the progress that your family is making and are excited at how far you all have come. Stacy, your daily words serve many as an inspiration, and your faith through all of this is has been motivational. Thank You for not only keeping all of us up to date on how things are going, but for also reminding us about the power of faith and love.
    May God continue to bless your family.
    Michael, Kristie, & Ashley

  5. STACY, YOU ARE SO RIGHT THAT GOD DI START A GOOD WORK IN YOUR LIVES AND HE WILL CONTINUE THIS. I LOVE THIS NEW IDEA YOUHAD TO PLACE THIS LETTER AND THAT YOU WERE ALL EST. IN 1991. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL WOMAN AND INSPIRATION YOU ARE. MAY THE LORD KEEP YOU IN HIS ARMS!

  6. Hey Stacey & Family,
    I was just thinking about you guys and wanted you to know that you are in my thoughts and prayers often. I enjoy your blog so much! I check it daily and have been so encouraged by your thoughts and inspirational words! God is doing a great work at every turn! Praying you all will have a wonderful week and the blessings of God will over take you!

    Love,
    Tammy Fivecoat

Leave a Reply

