We went to the wound doctor today and Robbie got the wound vac removed!  Now we don’t have to deal with the tubing, machinery, and changes with that.  We will change the dressing every other day until the wound is completely healed.  The wound is healing really well and looking good, so this was exciting to get the vac off.

Nate is doing better and resumed his schoolwork today.  His headache is gone and he has been eating well (which, at 13, he was already doing anyway :).  We are all breathing sighs of grateful relief for God’s protection.

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not;
As Thou hast been, Thou forever will be.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Summer and winter and springtime and harvest,
Sun, moon and stars in their courses above
Join with all nature in manifold witness
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide;
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

5 thoughts on “Buh-Bye Wound Vac!

  1. What wonderful news! You know, if I ever feel I haven’t shed enough tears in the past 24 hours I can just read your blog. It reminds me of God’s faithfulness, how grateful I am that Robbie is getting better, and how the Lord has entrusted your family with some hard providence to glorify His name. I have been praying for you over the past few days with Nate’s accident as well. It is difficult to have that “one more thing” added to your plate. I felt for you as I realized the physical illness you had to endure as you had to walk back into a place you never wanted to see in those circumstances again. Please know that we love you and TRULY miss being able to be there and be Christ’s body for you!

  2. Hey Stacey,
    Great news! Our staff prayed specifically this week that the wound vac would be removed. This was what I had asked everyone to pray for this week. Yeah!!! I am also glad to know that Nate is doing better and was able to do school work, again. He may not admit it but I am sure he kind of liked getting back on task, too. I love the the hymn, too. Kevin and I used that as a congregational hymn in our wedding and have used the song during the many experiences we have encountered throughout our marriage.
    Aren’t we thankful God is so faithful?
    Have a great day!
    Pamela

  3. Robbie,

    Dr. Davidson still remembers who glad he was when he got rid of this wound vac. Congratulations on the d/c of the wound vac.
    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

