Robbie came home today!  We got back into town late this afternoon.  The kids were ecstatic to see Dad and had prepared pictures for him and balloons along the wheelchair ramp in the carport.  The Fields family had a great banner on the door, too (I’ll get a picture tomorrow in the daylight). Robbie is feeling ok, just very  tired.  After rarely being upright for the last 16 days, it takes a lot out of him to be out and about again.  We came home with the wound vac and are set up for visits locally to tend to the back wound.  He will be using a wheelchair until his left foot heals, then can at least pivot and put a little more weight on that side.  He is restricted from weight bearing on the right side for at least 2 months. 

We have realized this afternoon and evening that this road is going to be a long one on which we must pace ourselves.  Some days Rob will make great strides and feel great.  Others will be more difficult and we’ll take baby steps.  It has been an extremely emotional day for both of us.  We are so grateful that Rob has come this far and that we are home, but I think we are just beginning to process so many of the emotions of the whole experience.  We had a nice evening at home with just the kids and it was just what we all needed.

Even though we are home, please continue to remember Robbie in your prayers.  He faces challenges daily with his limited movement, continued attention to his back wound, medications, and physical therapy.  Pray for the Lord to give us the strength and grace we need for this recovery.   I’ll keep updating his progress as we go – until the day I get to post the picture of him in his suit going to work again :).  If you know Robbie, you know he will be ready for that day!  God bless you all – we love and appreciate you so much.

Finally, some real clothes!
Finally, some real clothes!
Leaving the unit
Leaving the unit
Ready to go
Ready to go
Welcome home, Daddy!
Welcome home, Daddy!
King of the House
King of the House
Together again
Together again
29 thoughts on “Surprise! We’re Home!!!

  1. What an awesome surprise! We are thrilled that he was able to come home. We will specifically pray for the needs you mentioned. We think about you guys all the time.

    gary and kristen

  2. Wow! We were shocked! Congratulations. We remember you everyday in our prayers. Also when we see cyclists on the road we remember you and the mission team. Looking forward to the updates.

    M&A

  3. Wonderful!!!
    You will continue to be in our prayers! What precious pictures of the whole gang!! We believe for divine strength and grace to face each day ahead as you climb the hill to total recovery! God is faithful and He will carry you through! If we can do anything at all…please give me a call!! My cell is #919-2463. We would love to serve you guys in any way!!

    Love and Prayers,
    Tammy Fivecoat & Family

  4. You all look great! We are continuing to pray for you and we know God will give you the strength as you journey through these new trials of being home.

  5. Hello Robbie and Stacey,
    I hope you remember me. I used to work for your mom and dad… I am so glad that you are home and are feeling alot better.. New Antioch Baptist Church has been keeping me posted from the pastor which is where I go to church… You all will continue to be in our thoughts and prayers. I know you still have a long way to go but GOD will heal you. The pictures are Wonderful… If you need anything you can email me or call me #316-1761..

    Love and Prayers,
    Lisa Warren and Family

  6. Yeah Johnson Family!!!!! So great to see all of you at home together! I am so thankful that God has brought all of you thus far. I can only imagine that yes, this road will be long but you all are such a strong family and each day you will be one step closer to fully healing and reclaiming normalcy again. The prayers will continue for all of you…I ask our loving God to be with all of you and especially Robbie…”Lord thank you so much for bringing Robbie home to his family, I give you all the glory and praise for his recovery…Lord guard his heart and mind from any negative thoughts about this road he is on, fill his mind with nothing but positive thoughts about everthing he can do today and everything he will be doing very soon. Lord, I ask for strength for Stacey to take care of Robbie and her children. Lord, give her a sense of calmness and clarity as she goes about her daily tasks. Lord, send her extra energy to run this race set before her knowing that at the end of every single day you will give her rest. In Christ’s name I pray. Amen.”

    Big Hugs,
    Stacey Orr

  7. Didn’t get to the computer until late tonight to check the progress of the day. How wonderful! Everyone else is asleep at my house. Can hardly wait to tell them that Mr. Robbie is home. Praise the Lord!!!!

    We’re a phone call or email away if you need us. Am so excited to pray for this next stage in his healing.

    Thanking God for all He’s done for the Johnsons,
    Max, Jennifer and the children too

  8. So glad to hear of Robbie’s homecoming! Praise God! It is hard to have a loved one in the hospital, and it’s almost harder for those first few days at home after a long hospital stay! I’m praying for God to bless you all with peace and rest, and for a speedy recovery for Robbie. Isn’t it wonderful to have the kids home where they can be with their dad and help out? I’m sure you have some eager little “nurses” who are ready to take care of their daddy! 🙂

  9. Praise God!! I was so excited when I just read the first line “Robbie came home today”. This is the beginning of the next phase of recovery for you. I know this will be a challenging time for you, getting used to the “temporary” limitations that you have. But remember, you have many that are praying for your family. Looking forward to hearing positive news from you. Enjoy being home and remember that there will be good days and then not so good days, but you will get through this!!! Thanks for posting the pictures too!!!

    Love you guys!
    Sherry

  10. Hurray!! Robbie looks wonderful and the family very happy.
    Let us know if we can help with anything.
    Love you all,
    Mary & Ronnie

  11. AWESOME!!!!! Congrats! Everyone in the toy store now knows you are home because I screamed it out when I read the blog entry!!!! This is such great news! Thanks to the Great Physician for sending you home!
    Mary Horne

  12. PRAISE THE LORD!!!!! With tears in my eyes all I can say is “THANK YOU LORD”. How can anyone doubt that the God we serve is in control and loves us more than we can ever imagine. I will continue to pray that God will give each of you the strength sufficient to meet each challenge as it comes and the grace to make it thru each day.

  13. Wow, what good news! I know the road ahead probably won’t be easy, but from what I’ve read here, you guys will handle it like champs. Hang in here, and let the healing take place at it’s pace, not yours.

  14. OH! What very good news! I love the welcome pictures on the wall. I am thanking God for His healing right now!! And I’m continuing to pray.

    With Love in Christ,
    Holly Smith (Meredith’s friend in CO)

  15. Robbie and Stacey,
    PRAISE THE LORD!!!! I am so excited that Robbie got to come home. There is nothing like being in your own bed that will bring some healing itself. This is the best news and know that the kids have to be so excited to have Daddy home. Stacey, I know that God will give you the strength to take care of Robbie and the kids. I will continue to pray for each of you and Robbie’s continued progress. I agree with what you said in your post that I don’t know how people deal with these valleys without God. Isn’t God the Greatest!!!!
    Love in Christ,
    Tracy Coburn

  16. I am so happy for all of you!! You all will continue to be in my prayers as you make this transition back to “normal”. Thank you so much for the journey you have taken us on. You all have continued to lift us up during such a trying time. How wonderful that you are able to praise God for the good he has done in the midst of such struggle. I have such admiration for you both. Stacey, we miss you!
    Take care,
    Janice

  17. We are so glad you are home with your family….enjoyed the pictures….it gave us memories of our homecoming from the hospital after 42 days when Dennis had his bike accident. We think about you every day…we’ve been there….and we know what you are going through….If we can help you guys in any way, please let us know. Rob, we are so glad you received great medical care.
    Charlotte Davidson
    Dennis O. Davidson, M. D.

  18. YEA!!!! So glad to hear that Robbie is home and that you all are together as a family again in the same house!!! I know that is refreshing for all of you. I will continue praying for Robbie’s recovery and the long road ahead of you all. Robbie looks great!! Love you guys!!!! God is good!!!
    Marcia

  19. Ya know I look at these pictures in AWE of what God has done! I keep having to tell myself that Robbie was hit by a TRUCK! What a miracle! I’m so glad you guys are doing well but will continue to pray as I know this is where it starts to get even tougher. Love yall!

  20. YAY! So glad to hear you are home and doing so well. You will continue to be in our thoughts and prayers through your recovery. The pictures were great. We will be reading the updates and watching for the picture of you when you get to go back to work and come see us again. Take care and may God continue to bless you and your family.

    Sharon
    Batesville Family Practice Clinic

  21. Congratulations and welcome home! We are excited that you are finally able to be all together back here. We’re sure you will have a lot of people around you in the days to come, but if we can do anything for you, please let us know.
    God Bless,
    Michael, Kristie, & Ashley

  22. Hey, Robbie. I was very happy to hear you are now home. I have followed the blog daily and praying for you, your family, and the people at the Med who took care of you. Do you and Stacey have an email address?

  23. Thank God you are home !!! You look as good in those pj’s as you do in a suit !!! I am so happy for you , Stacey and the kids . Stacey will need all the strength she has to keep up with you my friend . If you need any help Stacey just call . Will continue to pray for you and wiling to help in any way needed. Keep the faith .
    Love to all , Judy

  24. Wow!! What an awesome God we serve! I know you guys are soooo excited to have Daddy home. We will continue to pray for you until you have been completely restored. Even my 3 yr. olds know to pray for Mr. Robbie. It will remain a family affair as long as you need us.
    Please call if you need anything at all. Mr. Scott will be here anytime if Nate needs ANYTHING.
    We love you guys!
    Scott, Pam, Abby, Hannah, & Sarah

  25. We are so glad to hear Robbie is home. We will continue to pray that the healing process both physical and emotional will be speedy. We are so proud for your family to finally be together again in your home. Keep up the good fight.

    The Johnson’s

  26. Congratulations Robbie and Stacy. Its great to see the grand smiles on all of you. I am sure the long road to recovery is sinking in, but much better to be back home I’m sure not to mention cheaper. My bills were high…heicopter alone was 12680.00 . I don’t know that insurance will cover that. They call everything monopoly money but when you get a bill in it doesn’t seem like that. Air Evac Family is about 275.00 for five years. We have that now. Anyway so good to see you home, congrats, I’ll let you settle in and come by toward the end of the week. God Bless, David

  27. I’m so happy for you guys that Robbie got to come home!! We will continue to pray for a speedy recovery and strength along the way!!

    Joe & Brandi

Leave a Reply

