Robbie’s cleanout seems to have gone well yesterday, although we haven’t gotten an official report.  The surgeon did say that it didn’t have any dead skin (which would requre grafting, so pray that is doesn’t happen), and there were no visible signs of infection.  Thank you for your continued prayers.  He will require another cleanout surgery in a few days.  I am praying that this will be the last one needed and they can close the wound. 

His foot, pelvis, and hip are sore, but seem to also be healing nicely.  He wears his brace for his back most of the day and can sit up at an angle and take a break from lying down.

Today the physical therapist came and helped him get in a wheelchair.  He got to get out of the room for a few minutes and practice driving it.  He’s going to need it for awhile.  He will eventually use a walker and I have informed him that I intend to put tennis balls on the bottom :). Bless his heart, he is such a trooper.  It was very physically draining for him to be up for the first time, but overall it went well and he rested well afterward.

Today is Nate’s 13th birthday, so I came home to be with the kids for awhile.  We are about to go bowling and then to get some dinner to bring home.  Nate decided he’d like to have a ‘chill-out’ night with just Stephen, Betsy, & me and have a bigger celebration when Dad is home.  We are even saving his ‘big’ gift for then, too.  Please pray for Robbie.  He misses the kids so bad and when he talks to them on the phone he closes his eyes and soaks in their voices.  We are very ready to be together as a family again. 

A few days ago, a comment was left on the blog http://tracywilkins.wordpress.com/2008/08/15/got-me-thinking/ that just blessed us so much.  I read it out loud to Rob the other night and it brought tears to his eyes.  We are amazed at what God has done and is doing in our lives and, we pray, for His glory.  You are a part of that – every prayer, comment, phone call, text, card, snack, and everything else is a testimony to the body of Christ joining together.  We are so humbled.

Finally, we received a gift yesterday that, once again, brought us to tears and to our knees in gratitude.  Those of you who gave toward it will never know what it meant and how much it amazed us that people would want to do that for us.  Please know that God is using it to meet our needs during this time and we could never express enough gratitude toward you all.  We were speechless. 

Grace and peace to all of you with our love.

11 thoughts on “Rollin’ Along

  1. Robbie & Stacey,

    I just want you to know that we are still fervently praying for you, and have asked many people to pray for you who do not even know you. When I was asking a friend of mine from Memphis to pray for you, she said she already was!! It gave me chills! She doesn’t know anyone from Jonesboro except for us, but she had received a forwarded email about the accident requesting prayer. It is so neat to see the body of Christ functioning as the Lord intended it ….. standing in the gap and interceding for our brothers and sisters in Christ (even if we do not know them this side of heaven)! I think we would be blown away by all the people who are commited to praying for you that do not personally know you.

    Another neat God-moment for me through this was regarding the song “Jesus Draw Me Ever Nearer”. I am recording that song for my mom’s funeral and it is a song that is very personal to me. I was singing the song in my car, and the Lord brought ya’ll to my mind, so I sang it as my prayer for you both. That night when I got home and checked your blog, guess what song you mentioned ….. “Jesus Draw Me Ever Nearer”. I will continue to pray that you will love Him even more through this trial and be formed more to His likeness as a result of it.

    Your faith is truly challenging and inspiring. I can’t imagine what you are going through. We will keep praying you through this journey.

    Love you,
    Kimberly

  2. Stacey: My prayers go up for you that Christ Jesus will be your rock. I know what it means to lean hard on your husband. My beloved husband’s calling takes him away from us often and for so long, and the desert place becomes the honeymoon period with God. God gives and hears and answers these groanings and prayers, just as he gave and heard and answered our prayers which brought your friends, the Woodsides, to us in North Carolina. Look full in his wonderful face. Your sister, GW

  3. Hey guys! Just want you to know that we are continually praying for you and your family. I continue to be amazed by your strenth and complete reliance on God!
    You were so heavy on my mind this morning as I did my quiet time. The scripture was I Peter 4:12-13, “Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when His glory is revealed.” This will continue to be my prayer for you!
    We love you, and are praying for complete healing!
    Pam

  4. Dear Robbie and Stacey,
    Your blogs have been so encouraging to me! I know God is using you as a light at the Med. I just wanted you to know that Jeff & I are praying for both of you! It seems like yesterday when my dad had his bad accident and was in a very similar shape. At the time, like you said in your blog, it seems like it will take forever and you want it to hurry! Let me just encourage you; after 3 months of my dad not being able to put either foot on the floor, he fully recovered due to God’s miraculous healing and glory!!! He walks a couple of miles every morning and feels 10 years younger. God is truly able! He will use this season in your lives to teach you and your children His faithfulness. We will continue to pray for daily grace, peace and purpose. I know He has special plans for you (Jer 29:11) and we will all celebrate as He makes His way known! We love you and thank God for your testimony.
    Because of His grace,
    Mary Ann

  5. Robbie & Stacey,
    We were out of town last week and just got back Monday night. I read the emails that were sent to me about the accident and was so glad to get this site to keep updated about everything going on. Please know we are thinking about you and praying for you and all of your family. Thanks for letting us know specifically what to pray for!
    Love,
    Nan

  6. Robbie and Stacey,
    I work with Novartis as a DM in Raleigh, NC for Mark Lloyd and the N4/N5 Division. Derek Brewer is a good friend and colleague. We’ve been kept up to date on Robbie’s progress through daily voice mails and emails.

    I just wanted you to know we are fervently praying for your recovery and healing. Thank you for your strong spirit and witness through all of this!

    I’ve also asked my church prayer chain to keep you in their prayers on a daily basis. (so even though they are strangers to you, there are 500+ brothers & sisters in christ praying for y’all)

    Continue to be strong.
    Sincerely,
    Rob Coles

  7. It’s truly a “Miracle at the Med” for your family. The comments and updates on your blog have been so inspiring. God is truly present and working on Robbie and the Johnson Family. Myself and Highland Drive Baptist are keeping you and yours in our prayers.

    In his Grip,
    Mike Barber

  8. Stacey & Robbie,

    Just wanted to let you know that we are still praying for you all. Please tell Robbie that everyday the girls want to know how my friend is doing and is he going to come home yet. I know their little prayers for him are strong!

    Also, we have made a full connection to your family now. Michael orders a lot of material for our business from Robbies Mom & Dad and he trying to stay connected to them as well, to keep up with progress and what we can do help!

    We love you guys!
    Shania, Michael, Macy & Sydney

  9. Hello Stacey and Robbie,
    Just wanted to send you guys love and prayers from our family to yours. We stand with you guys daily and are refreshed at the awesome work God is doing. What an remarkable testimony of the power of God’s people coming together from all over the map! The power of prayer is beyond any other known to man. We love you guys and are believing God for the miraculous to continue to manifest in your lives daily. Be encouraged and full of faith…the best is yet to come!

    Problems and Pain are a Platform for the Power and Presence of God to be Proclaimed!

    What An Awesome God We Serve!

    Love,
    Tammy Fivecoat & Family

  10. Robbie and Stacey,
    Just wanted you both to know that we are all still praying for a quick and complete recovery. I came across one of my favorite passages last night and it brought tears to my eyes. You remember my “God thing” moment in Africa, it’s Kim’s verse, Isaiah 43. When Eunice read it to me, she personalized it, she said God wanted me to know it was for me, and I’d like to do the same for Robbie.

    “But now, this is what the Lord says –
    he who created you, O Robbie,
    he who formed you, O Robbie:
    Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
    When you pass through tthe water,
    I will be with you;
    and when you pass through the rivers,
    they will not sweep over you.
    When you walk through the fire,
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze.
    For I am the Lord, your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
    You are precious and honored in my sight,
    and I love you.”

    I hope you have a great day, and if either of you need anything, please don’t hesitate to call.

    Allison

  11. Stacey:

    Happy Birthday to Nate!! I can’t believe he is 13. WOW! My last memories of Nate were as a 6 year old. I wish we could have been there to watch him up grow up.

    Your blog blesses me each time I read it. Thank you, Lord, for the protection of Robbie’s wound. I can almost imagine His mighty right hand covering his back in order to protect him.

    Just wanted to check on the weekend. We are leaving town early Friday. Much love to all of you, KB

Leave a Reply

