Here is my man at his best.  Thanks to our friend Craig for sending it.  Robbie intends to be back and better than ever soon.  Right now, please pray as he is in the operating room undergoing another cleanout on his back wound.  Please pray that it will remain infection-free and that the healing will be already impressive to his doctor.

Last night, Robbie read many of the comments that you have posted.  He was moved to tears as he read all the love and prayers that have been directed our way.  Please know that we are humbled and overwhelmed by the response to his accident.  It is such an encouragement.

Tomorrow is our oldest son’s birthday.  Nate will be turning 13 – so hard to believe!  Robbie had been planning a special day for him this weekend.  He wants to postpone that until he is home, but I’m going to go home tomorrow and spend the day with Nate doing something special.  If you would like to, you can send Nate a birthday wish on his blog, listed on my links.  I know he is disappointed for Dad not to be there on his birthday, but he is happier that Dad is still here with him.

Please pray for cleanout going on now – I will update when he is finished.  God bless you.

6 thoughts on “My Man, My Young Man

  1. Stacey,

    We have been singing a new song at church that has really become my prayer for you guys as you walk through this trial of your faith.

    It is from Sovereign Grace’s new album Psalms.

    Here are the lyrics, I hope they will encourage your heart in the Lord.

    The Lord Is
    (Psalm 23)

    Verse 1
    The depths of Your grace who can measure
    You fully supply all I need
    You restore my weary soul again and again
    And lead me in Your righteousness and peace

    Verse 2
    You’re with me through every dark valley
    There’s nothing that I have to fear
    You are there to comfort me again and again
    Protecting me, assuring me You’re near

    Chorus
    The Lord is
    The Lord is my shepherd
    The Lord is
    The Lord is my shepherd
    I shall not want

    Verse 3
    You gave Your own life for my ransom
    So I could rejoice at Your side
    You have shown Your faithfulness again and again
    There’s nothing good that You will not provide

    Bridge
    I will dwell in Your house
    All the days of my life
    I will dwell in Your house
    All the days of my life

    Words by Pat Sczebel and Bob Kauflin, music by Pat Sczebel.
    © 2008 Sovereign Grace Worship (ASCAP)/Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI).

  2. I am a friend of Meredith’s in CO. Today we had lunch and prayed specifically over this time to be infection-free.

    Know that a sister in Christ in Colorado is praying for your family!

    With love,
    Holly Smith

  3. I remember this day well. Robbie kicked my butt. I think by the time I finished Robbie had already taken a shower and changed clothes. Not really, but I was impressed with how he competed and how good of shape he was in. Because of what I saw that day, I know that he will compete hard in this race and will win it too.

    Joe Hafner.

  4. I’m so glad to hear that Robbie is doing better everyday! I’ve been praying and had my sunday school class pray also! I ‘m going out of town Thursday until Monday but if you need anything I can come to the hospital and relieve you or bring you food, anything! I feel like I’m here close and maybe I can be of some help! Please tell Robbie that I know that God is going to heal him and he’ll be running again very soon!

  5. Robbie & Stacey,
    It’s so good to hear the good reports. I know you are rejoicing in every victory God gives to you! We continue to pray for you and your family. God Is So Good!! Guess what? Tomorrow is Kaitlyn’s birthday too! She will be 11. Nate will be 13?! Wow! A teenager!! We saw the new baby’s heartbeat today. We are so thankful! Once again, we love you and are praying for you!!

    Joe and Brandi Carter

  6. Robbie and Stacey,

    I received 5 different phone calls last week to let me know of the accident. It was a clear reminder of the uniqueness of being a part of God’s family. Those calls came from five different cities, and I knew that your family was being lifted up simultaneously by so many people so far apart. Since then, the Lord has frequently brought your family to mind, and in our home you all are continually being lifted up. You have touched the lives of countless others by your faithfulness throughout a storm. We are praying for Robbie’s rapid healing and for your entire family to feel God’s touch as He holds you safely in His hand.

    Love,
    Amy Sloan
    Phil. 1:3

Leave a Reply

