Robbie has had a better day today.  He was able to sit up for the first part of the day in a special chair that lets him be elevated, but keeps pressure off his hip, pelvis, and back.  He was also able to do a little physical therapy this morning on his upper body which he enjoyed. 

Tommorrow please pray as he is scheduled to go back into the o.r. for another cleanout of the wound in his back.  The doctor spoke with us this afternoon and said that so far it is looking good.  Continue to pray that it will be infection-free and the cleanout would be smooth without any complications.

In order for Robbie to get his lung capacity strengthened, he has a little “something o-meter” (which we call his video game) that he uses to take deep breaths and hold them.  I taped a wallet-size picture of our family on it in order to give him motivation.  He has to “breathe to Betsy.” 

Yesterday was a very difficult day for Robbie physically and me emotionally.  Thank you for your prayers.  This is not a path that you can figure out all at once and sometimes the bumps are unexpected.  A week ago I did not know where we would be right now.  I am brought to my knees in tears of gratitude as I look at my sweet husband and think of how God has kept him.  I am in awe of God’s mercy and grace toward us.

Thank you – I’ll post as soon as I can tomorrow.

12 thoughts on “One Week Ago Tomorrow…

  1. Stacey,
    I haved never met you but you seem like the rock that Robbie needs at this time. I went to SW3 with Robbie this last May and I am in his district. Please let him know that all the reps in Little Rock are praying for you all.
    Chris

  2. Stacey,
    My prayers are with Robbie, you, your precious children, your folks, and J.R. and Tronnia during this time. Knowing you all as I do, I’m not surprised that your words, even during a time like this, are words of faith and a witness to your ‘peace that passes understanding’. Thank you for sharing that Peace with all who read them. I’ve read many inspirational books by people who have gone through some of life’s great trials and your writings are right there with the best of them. May God’s hand cradle you all.

    Gayle

  3. Best wishes to you and your family. Sounds like you’ve been going threw a lot.
    May God bless you with His healing touch.

  4. Stacey,

    I am just amazed at the awesome work that God is doing in Robbie’s body.
    When I read all of the comments that your friends and family have written…I stand in awe of the widespread affect that You and Robbie have had on so many people.
    You have definitely walked through the fire more than one time in your life and you have remained faithful. I know that God is so pleased with your testimony of faith and steadfast love for HIM!!
    I will continue to pray and believe for total healing and restoration. Be encouraged that “His Unfailing Love Surrounds You.”

    Psalm 32:10
    Many are the woes of the wicked, but the LORD’s unfailing love surrounds the man who trusts in him.

    Love,
    Tammy Fivecoat

  5. I know Robbie and the boys from karate class, and we just so happen to live across the street from you guys. I figure you’ve got things under control, but if you think of anything my wife and I can do for you, please let us know. Nate and Stephen are some of my favorite kids in class, and I pray for the best for them and your entire family.
    Brent and Robin Baxter

  6. I am praying for you. You are a blessing. Just reading your posts makes me very thankful — for so many reasons. I hope your husband recoups quickly.

    Mark Harrell
    markharrell.wordpress.com

  7. Stacey,
    Thanks so much for all the updates. A week sure seems like a milestone, doesn’t it? All of this is reminding me so much of all the thoughts and feelings we had after my car accident years ago. Thankfully, though, it sounds like Robby is going to recover better than I did! You are showing a great testimony through this trial. Remember to let people help you in any way they can—they want to!
    ~Kelly

  8. We continue to pray for you over here on the east coast. I assume that this is far from your mind right now, but I hope you are keeping a written record, along with the blog, of your thoughts, the events, and the lesson’s God is teaching you through this. It is stories such as these that need to be recorded for other people to witness the grace and strength of God, the power of a godly marriage, as well as the power God in the prayers and the love of His people.

    If you ever want to put it into a book, I’ll be happy to write the Introduction.

    soli deo gloria,

    Matthew and Amy

  9. Robbie,

    We continue to pray for your complete recovery and if there is anything we can do for you and your family, please let us know. Grey is feeding us today and we sure miss having you here to pick at. It’s really hard to manage Grey by ourselves. You know how she can be. 🙂 We are keeping up with your progress thru Stacey’s blog. We hope to see you soon. Take care!
    Angie & The Gang at Batesville Family Practice Clinic

  10. Stacey,

    My heart and prayers are going out to you right now. I know our God has you right where he wants you — in HIS Hands! It must be very hard on you, but you are such a faithful servant. Praying that Rob’s OR Visit today was successful and that you are doing better today. Remember, in this process of Rob’s healing, you have to take care of yourself as well! Trusting God for his continued healing in your lives!

    2 Chronicles 16:9a, “For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.” (NIV)

    Love Always,
    Sherry

Leave a Reply

