We are now a homeschool family (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VM6uqj0_jQc), so we are turning Rob’s seldom-used office into a schoolroom.  The walls were already painted a pretty brown, and I really didn’t want to repaint the whole room (since we just did the laundry room and I’m getting ready to tackle the kids’ rooms).  My friend Lori gave me the great suggestion to pull colors from the “old” looking globe we have which has a tan background.  I found fabric for curtains that I haven’t made yet, ordered a world map and U.S. map from National Geographic, and got a rug.  Anyway, when we were visiting Lori & Michael a few weeks ago, the elementary schools in their town were beginning a complete remodel of each school.  They had desks, chairs, even trash cans just sitting on the playgrounds for the taking.  I got 2 desks, 2 chairs, and 2 trashcans.  We already had one desk in Robbie’s storage building.  Today while the kids were at VBS, I painted the smaller desks for Stephen & Betsy and the bigger one for me.  Nate is going to use a beautiful desk that belonged to my Grandpa–I’m not painting it!  Here’s what I did today.  I’m really pleased with how they turned out.  I’ll post pictures of my whole room when it’s put together. 

P.S.  Watch the video link.  It is really funny!

7 thoughts on “Schoolroom Desks

  1. Oh my gosh, that video is hilarious! I just made John watch it with me and we were both laughing out loud!

    GREAT job on the desks. They look great. I’m actually excited to hear about your homeschooling adventures.

  2. I can’t believe how you got those desks. They look great. You just need to paint Mrs. Johnson across yours!

  3. You are so creative! You should keep those desks forever even if the kids end up doing their work on the floor, the porch, the trampoline, kitchen island, comfy chair…
    By the way, your bird nest blog was excellent and quite worthy of submission to some Christian magazine. We have a bird nest in the corner of the side porch eaves, but the eggs are all a different color. Does this mean they all have different daddies? ha!

  4. I am very impressed !!! The desk look great I wish I had one to do that way !! It will really look great !

Leave a Reply

