rob-kids-zoo.jpgrob-kids-zoo.jpgJust wanted to say on this day after Father’s Day that I am so grateful for the father that my husband is.  He is gentle and kind, patient and understanding.  He is also firm and consistent.  That is a tough balance to strike and he does it.  He really embodies the qualities I’m reading about in “Grace-Based Parenting” (see the sidebar).  I recommend this book. 

fathers-day-07.jpgWe celebrated Father’s Day at my parents’ house with a cookout in the backyard complete with badminton, bubbles, cornhole (my brother is a card-carrying member of their players’ association–we signed him up–google it if you aren’t sure what it is :), and slip-n-slide.  Robbie’s parents joined us along with my Grandpa and step-Grandma, Thelma.  We are very thankful for the fathers that taught us so much and continue to.fathers-day-dad.jpgfathers-day-dad.jpg fathers-day-dad.jpg   fathers-day-poppie.jpg

FYI, I finished the Diana book and it was good, I guess.  I guess it goes back to being a little girl who woke up at the crack of dawn to watch her wedding and the newly pregnant woman who got up with crackers and Sprite beside the couch to watch her funeral.  She really had a sad, lost life.  The book was interesting, but to think that these are real people is just astounding.  Not a book that adds any value to your own life, but interesting nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

